The new electric iracing esports tournament that is looking towards the future

Published: Mar 11, 2021 - Last Updated: Apr 8, 2024

Mike Rockenfeller, 2010 Le Mans 24 Hours winner and 2013 DTM champion has created the all new RCCO World eX Championship. It is an all-electric iracing esports tournament. This is a rFactor 2 racing series where the format and car used are dictated by today’s electric car technology.

The racers will be made up of a mix of esports stars and real-world professionals, not a particularly surprising move considering the interesting link between the two. All 22 players will drive the 1000hp all-electric, but fictional, eX ZERO car.

Their plan is to allows car manufacturers the opportunity to develop their own eX cars for the virtual championship in an attempt to promote their cutting-edge technology and their progress in creating car batteries and future electric car technology.

Comments from the founder

World eX co-founder Mike Rockenfeller said of Season 1:

“This is really a fantastic grid for our first season. World eX combines some of the best from real-world motorsport and esports racing. It is also important to us that we are able to attract a lot of great personalities, because that’s what World eX and #RacingForTheClimate is all about. World eX is not just another esports racing series. We want to show the emotions of the drivers, tell cool stories and talk about the climate crisis and what all of us can do to create a better world for our children.”

Open a Thunderpick account and claim your bonus
100% up to €/$600
On your first deposit
Premier Crypto Esports Betting Site
Extensive Pre-Match & Live Betting Markets
Popular & Niche Esports Markets

The Teams and Drivers

2021 RCCO World eX Championship – permanent teams and drivers

7 Lasse Sørensen (DK) TK9 E-SPEED (pro)

8 Romain Grosjean (F) R8G Esports (pro)

9 Andreas Jochimsen (DK) TK9 E-SPEED (esports)

10 Risto Kappet (EST) R8G Esports (esports)

11 Luca Kita (D) Biela Racing Team EURONICS (esports)

16 Tom Dillmann (F) Williams Esports (pro)

20 Yifei Ye (CHN) Absolute Racing (pro)

27 Alen Terzic (SLO) BS+COMPETITION (esports)

28 Thomas Schmid (CH) NIANCO esports (esports)

29 Liam de Waal (NL) Patrick Long Esports (pro)

31 Fabrice Cornélis (B) Esports Team WRT (esports)

32 Dries Vanthoor (B) Esports Team WRT (pro)

33 Gabby Chaves (USA) Patrick Long Esports (pro)

45 Frank Biela (D) Biela Racing Team EURONICS (pro)

51 Nico Müller (CH) NIANCO esports (pro)

89 Beitske Visser (NL) BS+COMPETITION (pro)

98 Martin Stefanko (CZ)Williams Esports (esports)

99 Michi Hoyer (D) Absolute Racing (esports)

The rest of the teams and drivers will be made up of traditional real-life racers and esports pros who gain entry through eleven separate pro and esports qualifiers.

The future of iracing and esports betting

Will this electric-focused esports tournament be the future of esports betting on iracing games? Racing esports tend to get the short end of the stick when it comes to esports betting opportunities, many people would rather bet on a MOBA like League of Legends or an FPS like CS:GO. The addition of professional racers from the world of Formula one as well as esports players could draw the interest of more traditional bookmakers from around the world who may not have offered odds on esports titles in the past.

Featured Image Credits: RCCO World eX
Andrew Boggs

Since: September 11, 2020

Andrew is a Northern Ireland based journalist with a passion for video games. His latest hobby is watching people speedrun Super Mario 64 and realising how bad he is at platformers.

See all articles from this author