The Shortlist For The 2019 Esports Awards Has Been Revealed

Posted on August 30, 2019 - Last Updated on January 22, 2023

This November sees the return of the annual Esports Awards at the Esports Stadium in Arlington, Texas. Although the 2019 Esports Awards won’t take place until Nov. 16, this week saw the unveiling of the finalists.

Categories include awards for Game of the Year, Hardware Provider of the Year, and even Cosplayer of the Year. Last year saw the likes of Fortnite, Tyler ‘Ninja’ Blevins, Astralis and Overwatch winning big. It’ll be interesting to see who picks up an award in 2019.

Esports Game of the Year Finalist

The biggest award is probably Esports Game of the Year. It’s no real surprise to find the likes of Counter-Strike Global Offensive, League of Legends, Fortnite, and Overwatch in the running. That said, Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 could be the one to watch.

Here’s the shortlist: League of Legends, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, Fortnite, Overwatch, PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds, Rainbow Six Siege, Call of Duty: Black Ops 4, Dota 2, Rocket League and Street Fighter V.

Read Also: A guide to CSGO betting

Esports Breakthrough Game of the Year Award

There’s also plenty of competition for Esports Breakthrough Game of the Year. Although it would be hard to bet against Apex Legends, games like Magic: The Gathering Arena and PUBG Mobile could be worth a look.

Here are the finalists for the category: Old School RuneScape, Magic: The Gathering Arena, Apex Legends, NBA 2K19, PUBG Mobile, Guns of Boom, BrawlStars, FIFA 19 and Battalion 1944.

[iframe url=””]

Esports Player of the Year nominations TBA

Although the nominees for Esports Player of the Year have yet to be unveiled, we know who will be making the shortlist for categories like Esports Personality of the Year. All eyes will be on Tyler ‘Ninja’ Blevins picking up another award. That said, Gabriel ‘FalleN’ Toledo is in the mix as well.

Here are the potential winners: Tyler ‘Ninja’ Blevins, Hector ‘H3CZ’ Rodriguez, Benjamin ‘DrLupo’ Lupo, Eefje ‘Sjokz’ Depoortere, Gabriel ‘FalleN’ Toledo, Alex ‘Goldenboy’ Mendez, Steve Arhancet, Carlos ‘ocelote’ Rodríguez Santiago, Jack ‘CouRage’ Dunlop and Matthew ‘Nadeshot’ Haag.

Esports Publisher of the Year

The battle for Esports Publisher of the Year looks interesting, too. It sees heavyweights like Riot Games, Activision Blizzard, and EA fighting for the honors. Here are the contenders: Activision Blizzard, Riot Games, Valve, Epic Games, Ubisoft, PUBG Corporation, Tencent, EA, Capcom and Supercell.

Plus, it’s good to see Esports Hardware Provider of the Year up for grabs. Here are the tech companies on the shortlist: AMD, Logitech, Intel, ASTRO, Nvidia, HyperX, Scuf Gaming, Republic of Gamers, Secretlab, Micro-Star International, Razer, and Alienware.

There are nearly a dozen other categories, and gamers can place their votes until Nov. 9. The Esports Awards have previously received criticism for placing too much emphasis on streamers than actual competitive gaming events.

Mostly, the ceremony will aim for smoothness this year. The 2018 Esports Awards saw plenty of controversies. Namely, the YouTuber Deji wrongly said that Epic Games had won the Publisher of the Year award, rather than Blizzard Entertainment.

ESB Staff Avatar
Written by
ESB Staff

At we are a group of independent journalists with one big passion: Esports. We've been following the industry and have contributed to its growth since 2015.

View all posts by ESB Staff