LoL Worlds 2023 Prize Pool & Distribution

Published: Oct 7, 2023 - Last Updated: Nov 14, 2023

The Worlds 2023 prize pool is another factor which contributes to the excitement behind this event. 22 LoL Worlds qualified teams will be competing for a shot at lifting the Summoner’s Cup. While winning the trophy is a top priority for every player, teams will also receive cash prizes based on how they rank in the event.

At the time of writing, the exact LoL Worlds 2023 Prize Pool has yet to be confirmed by Riot. But from previous iterations of the event, it’s safe for us to venture a guess. The total prize money for LoL Worlds 2023 is currently estimated to be somewhere between $2.1m to $2.4m. 

LoL Worlds 2023 Prize Pool Distribution

The prize money in the competitive arenas of Riot Games titles is usually lower than in other games. The main reason for this is that the organizations competing in these arenas have regular income and revenue-sharing dealsEither through sponsorships or contracts, teams pay their players a salary while they try to earn as much as the League of Legends prize pool. 

Despite the prize pool remaining at more than $2m for the last few years, and while other esports titles have seen astronomically larger prize pools, Riot Games has somewhat played down the World Championship pool in recent seasons. It’s thought that this is to concentrate more on the prestige of the Worlds title itself, focusing teams’ motivation to win Worlds on the euphoria of lifting a Summoner’s Cup rather than cashing in on their potential winnings.

However, this is just the final number, which will depend on the number of in-game purchases of the LoL Worlds Champions skins set that will be released this year.

For this year, there are four additional funds for the LoL Worlds prize pool thanks to bundles and skins purchased by the community. As every year, players who play the game this year will be able to increase the prize money won by the teams as follows:

ContentNet Proceeds to Worlds Teams
Worlds 2023 Pass Bundle25%
Worlds 2023 Premium Pass Bundle50%
Worlds 2023 Renekton25%
Worlds 2023 Team Icons/Emotes100%

The distribution of the prize pool is based on percentages. For Worlds 2023, the percentages will likely remain identical to last year, while the respective prize may differ depending on the exact total prize: 

  • 1st – 22%, $486,500
  • 2nd – 15%, $333,750
  • 3rd & 4th – 8%, $178,000
  • 5th & 8th – 4.5%, $100,125
  • 9th & 12th – 2.5%, $55,625
  • 13th & 16th – 2.25%, $50,062
  • 17th & 18th – 1.75%, $38,937
  • 19th & 20th – 1.5%, $33,375
  • 21st & 22nd – 1%, $22,250
  • 23rd & 24th – 0.75%, 16,687

Each team participating in the tournament will receive their share of the LoL Worlds money prize. Although their share will vary according to the ranking they complete the tournament, we see that everyone who takes part in this competition will be rewarded a certain amount.

lol worlds prize pool
Image: Riot

LoL Worlds Prize Pool History

Riot Games has been consistent regarding the LoL Worlds prize pool in recent years. For the years 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022, the announced prize money was $2,225,000.

However, although the prize money has remained constant, the shares of the first-place teams have changed. For example, the 2019 World Champion FunPlus Phoenix received 37.5% of the prize money, 2020 champion DAMWON received 25% and 2021 champion EDWARD Gaming received 22%. This number was also set at 22% for 2022 and probably for the LoL Worlds 2023 prize pool.

LoL Worlds has been held every year since 2011. As the recognition of League of Legends has grown, the prizes distributed at the tournament have changed.

The highest-known prize so far was Worlds 2018, won by Invictus Gaming. A total of $6,450,000 in prizes were distributed among the teams – a lot more than the Worlds 2023 prize pool. 

In 2011, the first year of the event, this number was only $99,500. Soon after, in 2012, the prize increased to $2,000,000 and never went lower than that for the League of Legends prize pool. 

Asian teams have won the majority of these awards. They have always been at the top of the rankings, especially thanks to their recent dominance. T1, which has won Worlds 3 times and reached the last 4 many times, has won more awards than its competitors.

See also: Best bookmakers for LoL Worlds
Filip Kicurovski

Since: November 6, 2019

Filip is a former competitive athlete in Counter-Strike 1.6, and an esports researcher at the Central China Normal University, based in Wuhan. Filip is a wealth of knowledge about all facets of the esports ecosystem.

See all articles from this author