The Esports Awards 2020 Nominees to be Announced at Prestigious Show

Posted on July 23, 2020

The fifth Esports Awards gala event is on the horizon but before this exciting esports industry event, the organisers will announce in their second spotlight show of the year, some of the finalists in each of the different categories, as well as bringing news of two brand new awards which are set to be awarded for the first time.

The announcement will be made at 8.00 pm BST on July 23 and will also provide details of a brand new initiative called the For The Gamers Fund.

Open a Thunderpick account and claim your bonus
100% up to €/$600
with your first deposit
Premier Crypto Esports Betting Site
Extensive Pre-Match & Live Betting Markets
Popular & Niche Esports Markets

What will be revealed on July 23?

Ahead of the awards show, the spotlight show will reveal the following information:

  • A number of community awards finalists which include the Esports Collegiate Award, Esports Mobile Game of the Year, Streamer of the Year, Esports Personality of the Year and Esports Content Creator of the Year.
  • Details of the new For The Gamers Fund, which is believed to be an industry-first initiative and which has been developed in partnership with eFuse.
  • Information on two brand new award categories that will have their inaugural awards presented in 2020.
  • A new format for the award of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Last Year’s Event

As the only global ceremony solely dedicated to esports industry talent and content producers, the Esports Awards will turn five this year, seeking to build on what was a record-breaking event in 2019. The awards were held at the fantastic bespoke Esports Stadium in Arlington, Texas with over 3.6 million votes cast to decide the outcome in a wide range of categories and almost double that number, 7 million people, tuning in to watch.

Big winners from last year’s event include the following:

  • Content Creator of the Year – Craig “Mini Ladd” Thompson.
  • Esports Breakthrough Game of the Year – Smash Ultimate
  • Esports Caster of the Year – Henry “HenryG” Greer
  • Esports Coach of the Year – Danny “zonic” Sorensen
  • Esports Commercial Partner of the Year – HyperX
  • Esports Console Player of the Year – Dominique “SonicFox” McLean
  • Esports Console Rookie of the Year – Chris “SImp” Lehr
  • Esports PC Player of the Year – Kyle “Bugha” Giersdorf
  • Esports PC Rookie of the Year – Kyle “Bugha” Giersdorf
  • Esports Cosplayer of the Year – LittleJem
  • Esports Game of the Year – League of Legends
  • Esports Organisation of the Year – Team Liquid
  • Esports Team of the Year – G2 Esports (League of Legends)
  • Streamer of the Year – Guy “Dr DisRespect” Beahm

Last year also saw five people rewarded for a lifetime achievement in Esports award, including Marcus “djWHEAT” Graham, Ralf Reichert, and Sundance DiGiovanni, although this category has now been streamlined for the 2020 awards ceremony.

The process sees anyone able to nominate any individual, team or organisation for any of the awards. The nominations are considered by a panel and a shortlist of finalists announced. These are then put out to public vote based on the performance of the nominated person, group or organisation from October 2019 to October 2020.

This is then followed by a panel vote, which then decides who the award winners are. These awards ceremony will be broadcast live on a date yet to be confirmed later in the year.

Featured Image Credits: Esports Awards | @esportsawards
Ian John Avatar
Written by
Ian John

Ian is a regular contributor to EsportsBets. Ian is well-versed in the world of esports betting and casino gaming and has written extensively on the online gambling industry. Ian brings fresh insight into all facets of gaming.

View all posts by Ian John